Dr. Tony Ryan Book Award

Image link

"It is only right to promote the horse through literature."

In 2006, the late Dr. Tony Ryan had a vision for supporting those who promote the Thoroughbred through literature. In a perfect culmination of his love for fine arts and for Thoroughbred racing, Dr. Ryan developed his idea for a literary award that would honor the best books pertaining to any aspect dealing with Thoroughbreds.

As with everything he set his mind to, this would not be done in just any way. He conceived the idea to recognize the best racing-related books published in a given year with $10,000 to be awarded to the winner, a cash prize that competes with literature awards such as the National Book Award and Pulitzer Prize. Nominees from any category may be submitted: fiction,non-fiction, handicapping, children's, breeding, photography, etc., as long as it pertains to any aspect of the Thoroughbred.

Dr. Ryan partnered with the THOROUGHBRED TIMES to promote and coordinate what would be the inaugural Castleton Lyons-Thoroughbred Times Book Award in 2007. Now in it's fourteenth consecutive year the Dr. Tony Ryan Book Award,since named for the visionary responsible for its inception, still remains one of the richest literature awards in the world.

You may find more information by following the Face Book page Dr. Tony Ryan Book Award - Castleton Lyons.

To be considered for the 2023 Dr. Tony Ryan Book Award please complete and return the following entry form:

Winners of the Dr. Tony Ryan Book Award

  • 2022 - Geraldine Brooks, Horse
  • 2021 - Annette Dashofy, Death By Equine
  • 2020 - Mark Shrager, Diane Crump: A Horse-Racing Pioneer's Life in the Saddle
  • 2019 - Louisville Story Program, Better Lucky Than Good:Tall Tales and Straight Talk From the Backside of the Track
  • 2018 - Linda Carroll & David Rosner, Out of the Clouds
  • 2017 - Lynda Sasscer Hill, Flamingo Road
  • 2016 - Eliza McGraw, Here Comes Exterminator!
  • 2015 - John Carter, Warriors on Horseback
  • 2014 - Andrew Plattner, Offerings from a Rust Belt Jockey
  • 2013 - David Owen, Foinavon: The story of the Grand National's biggest upset
  • 2012 - Patrick Smithwick, Flying Change: A year of Racing and Family and Steeplechasing
  • 2011 - Milton Toby, Dancer's Image: The Forgotten Story
  • 2010 - Jaimy Gordon, Lord of Misrule
  • 2009 - James E. "Ted" Bassett & Bill Mooney, Keeneland's Ted Bassett: My Life
  • 2008 - Rudy Alvarado, The Untold Story of Joe Hernandez: The Voice of Santa Anita
  • 2007 - T.D. Thornton, Not By a Long Shot: A Season at a Hard Luck Horse Track
  • 2006 - Joe Drape, Black Maestro